BTEC Level 3 Certificate and Extended Certificate in IT (NQF)


About the subject

The BTEC Certificate in Information Technology is equivalent to half of an A Level achieved with one block of the timetable study in one academic year. Certificate students can progress to the “single” Extended Certificate for their second year of study. The Extended Certificate is equivalent to one A Level.

The Extended Certificate is aimed at students who really enjoy IT and have a vocational or career interest in the subject. Most students who study for the course anticipate a future working in IT or studying an IT related subject at University or other HE college. The BTEC Information Technology suite of qualifications are fully accredited for UCAS points.

An Extended Certificate comprises 4 units, including three mandatory units. Each unit is awarded a Pass, Merit or Distinction and the combined marks produce the final overall grade of Pass, Merit or Distinction or Distinction*.


Learning styles

The BTEC course requires students to be well motivated, organised and independent learners who enjoy an active learning approach. We use a range of different teaching methods and you will be helped to identify your own learning style preferences and to make use of these to help you succeed. You will be expected to develop independent thinking and study skills. You will use a wide variety of software applications and produce coursework in different formats such as multimedia presentations, web pages, written reports and posters.  Students who prefer to demonstrate ability and expertise through practical coursework and ongoing assessment should enjoy the rigour and structure of the course.

Subject Combinations and Progression

Information Technology combines well with many other subjects and the choice will largely be determined by the longer term aim of the student. The BTEC Extended Certificate gives students a choice of progression options. Students who successfully complete the qualification will be well equipped to move onto degree programmes, Higher National Diplomas or relevant employment.


Subject Modules and Assessment

Units for Certificate (Year 1)

Mandatory Units
Unit 2 Creating Systems to Manage Information  – External controlled assessment

Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business- Internal assessment


Units for Extended Certificate (Year 2)

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems

Optional Unit 
Unit 6 Website Development – Internal assessment

External exam 

Assignments and coursework are tailored to fit real world situations.  For each unit, students will prepare a portfolio of coursework evidence to show that they have met the stated assessment criteria. Portfolios are predominantly digital. Students submit coursework to preset deadlines throughout the year.


Entry requirements

GCSE Mathematics Grade 4, and GCSE English Grade 4.