News Collyer’s Rewards Outstanding Students 18.12.2018

At the annual Collyer’s Prize Giving ceremony, successful students have been rewarded for their 2018 achievements at the college. The event was attended by students, teachers, parents and other members of the Collyer’s community. Music was provided by students Vila Zhang and Matthew Luk.

Presentation of the awards was made by Chair of the Governing Body, Dr David Skipp, Vice Chair Ann Donoghue, Chair of Trustees, Chris Clementi, and Dave Picknell from the Old Collyerian’s Association, Jenny Gammon (Horsham Town Twinning Association) and Claire Howard. The event was brilliantly organised by Collyer’s Linda MacLeman and Rachel Gander, with help on the day from former Collyer’s student Molly Moss.

The Mercer’s School Memorial Prize (The Merrett Bequest), awarded by the Mercer’s Company, was presented to Jenny Fletcher; recipients of the Mercers’ Exhibition Prize, awarded by the Trustees of the Collyer’s Foundation, were: Charlie Brooker, Emma Simmons, Oscar Bray, Reece Packham, Alice Chen and Richard Potter. The Trustees’ Curriculum Prize, also awarded by the Trustees of the Collyer’s Foundation, was presented to: Anna Bodrenkova, Amelia Venturini, Elena Davis, Daniel Brown, Chloe Flintham; Harvey Haydon, Oliver Heinrich, Tom Jarman, Ceri Pennington, Alexandra Holden; Harry Adams, Samuel Carter, William Francis, Israel Harding; Ella Lucas and Dominic Marks.

The college prizes were donated by the College of Richard Collyer and Richard Collyer Lodge, Trustees and Mercers; Company, the Collyer’s Association, the Old Collyerian’s Association; Collyer’s Law Department, Chris Martin and Steve Gilham; Chris Clementi, The Estate of the late Brian Alner. And the Horsham Twinning Association.

The Trustees’ Top International Student Prize was won by Chen Hei Mok and the Collyer’s Association Prize for Outstanding Contribution to the Student Community was awarded to Alpha Chackamma, while the prize for Outstanding Contribution to Sport was awarded to Sam Jewell. Emily Hedges picked up the prize for Outstanding Contribution to the Arts and college prizes for Excellence in Level 3 Vocational Courses was awarded to Anais Bassett, with the prize for Excellence in Level 2 Vocational Courses going to Megan Chandler.

The College Prize for Early Years was presented to Jasmine Chambers, Matthew Coates won the Academic Progress prize, Sheena Stoner picked up the Excellence in Access prize, while Csilla Farkasfalvi was awarded the Special Achievement in Adult Education prize. The Vivien Martin Prize for Special Achievement was awarded to Bilal Qureshi and Olivia Ward was awarded the Adam Howard Law Prize, set up in memory of a very promising law student, and kindly presented by his mum, Claire. The Collyer’s Young Enterprise Team: Dan Goodyer, Tom Williams, Fraser Relleen and Patrick Smith were delighted to receive the Business Prize for Entrepreneurship, with Daniel Butler awarded the prize for Strategic Management.

President of the Old Collyerian’s Association, Mr Dave Picknell, presented the Old Collyerian’s Awards (OCA) to Darcy Davies, winning the award for the OCA Outstanding Extra-Curricular Achievement Prize, and Nadia Henning won the OCA Creative Writing Prize.

The Chris Clementi Music Prize was presented to Nicholas Hoad, and the College Language prizes were awarded to Samuel Willis (French), Sean Cavallo (German) and Jessica Collett (Spanish).

Recipients of Outstanding Contribution to College (Mercers’ Award) prizes were: Ed Cray, Chloe Gardner, Jack Manger, Ed Pirie, Charlie O’Neil and Tom Wheatland. The Brian Alner Prize for Careers was awarded to Dan Goodyer, Andy Clement picked up the Brian Alner Prize for Geography.

The 2018 Alumni Prize, for an ex student who has continued to keep in touch and support the college, went to Ella McEwan. Ella is one of country’s leading costume designers for TV and film, and created many worn in the new Mary Poppins movie!

Ella told the audience: “It’s important to love your job and I love my job. Thank-you Collyer’s!”

DofE Gold Certificate winners celebrated on the night were: Natalie Crundwell, Louise Dafour, Lauren Green, Freya Mackins, Rachel Partridge; Kate Philps, Amelia Smith, Charlie Brooker and James Hartley.

Principal, Sally Bromley, who hosted the ceremony, said: “The Prizegiving event celebrates the wide range of student achievement at Collyer’s. Many students excelled academically, achieving 4 A* A levels and are now studying at Oxford, Cambridge and other prestigious universities, but the range of our students’ achievements do not end there. Students are awarded prizes for the way they engaged in activities outside the classroom, in clubs and societies, sport, music and drama, or the way they supported other students in their studies while persevering with their own. They are all truly awe inspiring young people and all at Collyer’s are extremely proud of them.

“It was an honour present this year’s Alumni Prize to Ella McEwan, an outstanding ex-Collyer’s student who is now enjoying a massively successful career. It was great to see Ella again and hear how her success story is progressing.”

Sally Bromley proudly presented the overall prize for Student of the Year to a delighted Ed Cray.

Ed, who previously attended Warden Park School in Cuckfield, was thrilled: “It is a great honour to receive the Student of the Year prize, although I don’t think I actually deserve it as some of the other students’ achievements were far better than mine!

“Collyer’s really is just a brilliant place. You can really become the best you can be at this college.”

Dr David Skipp, Chair of Governors at Collyer’s, told the audience: “The achievements of students from Collyer’s are amazing. We owe thanks to the students, their supportive families and the staff, who work so hard here to create an outstanding college. I congratulate you all sincerely.”