IT BTEC First In IT Level 2 Extended Certificate

Board: Edexcel
Syllabus: 500/9552/3

About the subject

The Level 2 BTEC Extended Certificate in IT is equivalent to three GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 and comprises 8 units of study. Each unit covers a specific subject area and all 8 units will be completed over the course of the year. The course has been designed to develop candidates’ skills, knowledge and understanding of the ICT sector and to develop them in contexts that are directly relevant to employment situations or to enable them to access further or higher education programmes.  The final grade awarded to successful candidates will range from D*D* to PP.


Learning styles

This highly practical course offers a student centred approach to learning together with the opportunity to apply ICT principles in a practical way. There is a strong emphasis on practical work but students will also participate in discussions, deliver presentations and produce written commentaries on what they have done. The qualification provides opportunities for students to develop their personal skills, for example, teamwork, communication, problem solving, planning and taking responsibility for their work and using their own initiative.

Subject Combinations and Progression

Students who study ICT at level 2 will usually be re-sitting GCSEs in English and Mathematics.  However, ICT combines well with many other subjects.

The course is particularly suitable for those studying in preparation for employment in the ICT sector, web design or advertising. This qualification is also suitable for those wishing to gain a Level 2 qualification to support further study in FE or in the workplace.


Subject Modules and Assessment

For the award of Level 2 BTEC Extended Certificate, a candidate will study the following programme:

Unit 1:          The Online World
Unit 2:          Technology Systems
Unit 3:          A Digital Portfolio
Unit 8:          Mobile Apps
Unit 13:        Website  Development
Unit 14:        Installing and Maintaining Computer Hardware
Unit 15:        Installing and Maintaining Computer Software
Unit 17:        Multimedia  Development

For most units, the student will prepare a portfolio of evidence that shows that they have met the stated assessment objectives. These objectives will test the students’ skills, knowledge and understanding. Each portfolio will be marked internally and externally moderated. There are 2 onscreen examinations (units 1 & 2).


Entry requirements

Average GCSEs of 3 and students must be very enthusiastic about ICT.